Habitat announces new Board Members

Monday, September 1, 2008

Stuart, Florida --- Habitat for Humanity of Martin County announced their board of directors for the 2008/09 year.  Returning this year is Stephen H. Pitkin, President, Bob Seldomridge, Vice President; Martin Woods, Treasurer; Doris Etleson, Secretary.  Returning Directors include:  Dan Capen, Michael Houston, Celeste Pattison, and Dianne Spina.  New directors include:  Rocco Fiore, Patrick LaConte and Rosalind Neilen.


The directors and officers perform their responsibilities in good faith which  does not harm the organization and avoids any conflicts of interest.  Habitat for Humanity of Martin County board of directors assists in setting policy, fundraising and advocacy.  In addition to these duties they are well versed in Habitat’s mission, purpose, goals, policies, programs, services, strengths and needs.


Martin County  Habitat for Humanity is a nonprofit organization that builds partnerships with volunteers, families, and the community to transform lives and revitalize neighborhoods by enabling families in need to own an affordable home. Habitat is currently one of the only providers of homeownership opportunities to working families at 25%-50% median family income (approximately $14,000 - $34,000 for a family of four).  Habitat for Humanity has a unique organizational philosophy that maximizes the transformative effects of building and buying a home in Martin County.


Homeownership through Habitat is a ‘hand up’ not a ‘hand out’. Completed homes are sold to pre-selected families who are required to complete 300 sweat equity/volunteer hours and pay an affordable, no-interest mortgage back to Martin County Habitat for Humanity giving them a profound sense of ownership. All Habitat homes are built by community volunteers, keeping costs low.

« return